The Old Courthouse, and the Heritage Centre for Kells, was designed and built in 1801 on the commission of Lord Headfort and gifted to the town of Kells. It was designed by the prominent Irish architect, Francis Johnston, who also designed the General Post Office and Nelson's Pillar, Dublin, and Townley Hall in County Louth.
Francis Johnston was born in Armagh in 1760 and in 1778, the Archbishop of Armagh, under whose patronage he then was, sent him to Dublin to his architect Thomas Cooley. Interestingly Thomas Cooley himself designed the steeple one can see at the top of the town in the churchyard, as well as a lovely bridge on the Headfort Demesne.
This building operated as a courthouse until the late 1990s when the Courts Service moved the local court to Bective Street and the Town Council decided to refurbish the building as a Heritage Centre.
It is a fantastic location in which to become acquainted with the town with a special permanent Boyne Valley Exhibition desifned to inspire tourists and local people to explore the town, and spend time discovering its wonderful history, culture, arts and heritage; usting interactive mutimmedia touch screens and video, along with display sustemms, a facsimile copy ot fhte book of Kells, a replica of the Kells Crozier.
The exhibition is FREE to visiiti and will be open daily from 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Tuesday to Saturday and 7 days a week during the summer months of July and August.
The Kells Courthouse can be contacted on 046 924 7508.Use the Contact page for contacting us!